College Programs


College education is a particular feature of Québec’s education system. It constitutes an intermediary level between secondary education and university education.

Post-secondary studies colleges, known in Québec as CEGEPS (Collèges d’Enseignement Général Et Professionnel), offer two-year pre-university programs and three-year career/technical programs which both lead to a Diploma of College Studies (DCS). They also provide shorter technical programs leading to an Attestation of College Studies (ACS).

In Québec, there are some 50 public CEGEPs, and 21 private subsidized colleges.

A diploma of College Studies (DCS) is required for admission to university. Pre-university programs lead directly to university, whereas technical programs generally lead to the labour market, but can, under certain conditions, also lead to university.

CEGEPS are governed by a separate, specific law. Each institution is administered by a board of directors made up of teachers, students and community representatives.